Visions of Apples Dancing in my Head

I’m sitting here at work dreaming of an Apple Cider from Tim Hortons. OR call me crazy, the Caramel Apple Spice from Starbucks.  I think because it’s a cool autumn like day, I just feel like snuggling up on my couch at home with a hot beverage. But then when I start thinking about the nutritional value of the drinks I am craving, I have to reconsider.  Lets take a look at the nutritional content of my Grande Caramel Apple Spice WITHOUT Whipped Topping:

Caramel Apple Spice
Calories 280
Total Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 20mg
Total Carbohydrate 70g
Dietary Fiber 0g
Sugars 65g
Protein 0g

So, if you are a calorie counter (which I am) I could easily sacrifice 280 calories for that.  However, I’m unsure if I want to ingest 65 grams of sugar.  As good as it sounds, I think I will have to pass.. unfortunately.

What are you favourite Autumn drinks?  I know the Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte is a favourite – by the way, I tried it a year ago to find out what all the hype was about.. it was absolutely disgusting!  Lets take a look at some of our favourite Autumn/Winter drinks.  NOT to judge those who drink these drinks, or bash any of these companies; I’m simply just enabling you to be aware of your choices.

Starbucks Grande Pumpkin Spice Latte:

Pumpkin Spice Latte
Calories 380, Calories from Fat 120
Total Fat 13g
Saturated Fat 8g
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 50mg
Sodium 240mg
Total Carbohydrate 52g
Dietary Fiber 0g
Sugars 49g
Protein 14g

Tim Hortons Medium Chocolate Latte

 

 

Calories 230
Fat 7g
Protein 9g
Carbs 32g
Fibre 0g
Sugar 30g

 

 

Tim Hortons French Vanilla:

 

Calories 310
Fat 10g
Protein 5g
Carbs 52g
Fibre 2g
Sugar 40g

 

 

 

Starbucks Grande Cinnamon Dolce Latte:

Cinnamon Dolce Latte

 

Calories 330, Calories from Fat 120
Total Fat 13g
Saturated Fat 8g
Cholesterol 50mg
Sodium 140mg
Total Carbohydrate 42g
Dietary Fiber 0g
Sugars 40g
Protein 12g

 

These are just a few of many of our Autumn favourite drinks!! I’m not saying not to have them – I just want to stress the importance of moderation!  I know at Starbucks you can also order the “skinny” versions of most drinks and enjoy your favourite drink, minus all the added sugar.

Leave a Reply

